drabbles of contrast

an experiment

Reaching for the Stars

No one ever said how much your toes will tingle as you stand on tiptoes, reaching for those stars just out of range. Or that the brighter it shines, the more terrifying the stretch. The fear of falling, and failing, seems to grow proportionally with the aching desire you carry for that particular star.

I’m afraid to try, and yet I want it too much not to try. Going off my track record, I’ll probably send it in anyway–overdue, of course, after procrastinating several days with crippling fear. But not this time. I’m determined. All it costs is a large section of time, a generous portion of hurt rejection, and losing a good amount of pride. Watch me fall. This time, I will do so splendidly.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 8, 2013 by in fledging hopeful, NaBlaPoMo, ordinary life, tell me about your day, whispers and tagged , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1 other follower

Archives

NaBloPoMo

NaBloPoMo November 2013
